UK School teacher - hugely need your help

I am a humble English teacher in a UK highschool. I want to use the ORBneXt One for an exciting educational experiment.

We have tried EVERYTHING and can’t get blink up to work. I gave up using the school Wifi as it would say it was setting it up then after about ten minutes say it wasn’t successful. I was so desperate that I bought a wifi 3G dongle (Huawei E5330 )

Now I’m ever worse off than when I started! The Blink Up is stuck at “3” and says “connection to api.electricimp.com refused” - I turned off the Huawei E5330 Firewall and tried to add some ports by changing the settings print-screened below.

Would hugely appreciate any advice on how I can connect.

Thank you

With your school’s WiFi, did they give you an SSID and password to access the WiFi?

I’m thinking that your WiFi is “captive”, meaning you don’t know the password for the router, you have to view a webpage and enter a password to access the WiFi.

You cannot use an Imp on a “captive” WiFi system.

Also, in the U.S., the imp uses channels 1-11. Make sure your WiFi Router is not set above channel 11. Tell us how you connect to WiFi … directly, or through a web page?

I’d avoid messing with the firewall - it shouldn’t be necessary at all.

By the sounds of it, the app isn’t communicating with the Electric Imp Cloud, so it can’t get the data it needs to send to the OrbNext, ie. BlinkUp isn’t even happening yet.

Just to check, are you using the OrbNext app, or the Electric Imp app? The latter won’t working with the commercial OrbNext, only the OrbNext Dev Kit (it’s not clear from your post which of these you are using).

Hi thanks!

mseim: the IT department themselves tried and failed to get it to connect. I had a standard wireless password and can sign into the wifi on my cell phone directly with no further passwords. I should also say that I am able to connect as normal using my home wifi so there is no issue with the OrbNext.