What happens if the imp cloud closes down?

Bought an imp for a little telemetry experimentation. I work in IT dev and wanted to experiment for my customers.

Reading through the forum I’m beginning to get a bit concerned that the hardware I’ve bought is entirely dependent on the existence of electric imp’s cloud (for dev and functionality).

Am I right in thinking

1. There’s no way to load bytecode into the imp without going through the imp cloud (however unrecommended)
  2. All the imp devices in the world will cease to function (at least in any useful way) if electric imp (the company) goes under
  3. There is no way to set up your own cloud/local server

On point 3 I’m happy to write and run that from the ground up on my systems if the interface is available. Is anyone writing and running code independently of the imp cloud (details please)?

I’d happily buy dozens of these for my customers if I knew I (potentially) wasn’t going to end up explaining why everything has ceased to work and I can’t provide a backup connection.

100% correct. There are some opensource alternatives that solve that problem, but i found them to be rather buggy compared to the Imp.

Wow.

Thank god tech companies never fail.

Any electric imp employee know of a way to cover this eventuality (however “insecure”). If you make yourself a link in the chain doesn’t that imply liability for its continued existence?

Anything electronic, especially wireless, has a risk of failure. One massive solar flare will wipe-out everything for a period of time (hours or days). Imagine if GPS satellites are disabled for two or three days. How would your own server/cloud be 100% reliable? You say that you could provide a backup connection, but will your devices reconnect and function without any intervention? Everything has a risk.