Trigger at a certain time

I need to trigger a function at a certain clock time to keep all of my nodes sync’d. The function sends out a sync packet over my LoRa. My nodes are programmed to leave a few seconds open at the top of every minute to receive that packet. So I need to schedule my IMP to send at second 0 or 1. However I won’t send that sync every minute. Only when it is requested by one of the nodes (at startup and certain other times), but then the transmit will be delayed until we have our open slot at the top of the minute.

It’s probably been done a hundred times, but I’m new to this platform and haven’t figured it out yet. Any suggestions?

Relatively easy in theory but quite tricky to maintain long term. I know years back a company called Dust networks had developed their own resilient method (Time Syncronised Mesh Protocol) which handled the syncing of slots in a stochastic fashion. Maybe things have moved on from there. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TSMP. Otherwise check the radio module as it may have a wakeup feature, as in send some arbitrary bytes causing an interrupt to trigger.

My mesh will not be all that time-critical. I’m looking to maintain about 32 nodes and one central unit within +/- 1 sec. Pretty simple. I send out a sync packet every 30 min for now. That will increase as I become more confident in my node clocks. But when I put a new node on line, it will send a sync request immediately and the master will respond at the next minute tick. So I’m just looking for how to trigger a function (send sync) at a particular time.