SPI - Newbie question

First, let me preface this by saying while I'm not a complete newbie with electronics, it's something I'm not super familiar with, code is more of my thing.

So I'm wanting to interface with a TI CC1101 (data sheet) in order to interface with another device. It states it's a 4-pin SPI, although the imp is a 3-pin SPI configuration (which I undertand - I think! - what they're doing.) What I don't understand is CC1101's SO pin acts as a digital out, and I need to wait for it to go low before reading / writing to / from a register. I'm a little confused how I'd do this in code. Can I do something like this?

hardware.spi257.configure(flags, clock * 1000); // configure SPI_257 at about n X 1k
local so = hardware.pin2;
so.configure(DIGITAL_IN);

Is that going to mess with the SPI or should it act properly?

Sorry for the newbie question with the hardware side of things.

No need to apologize.  We expect many of our users to be software developers with some or limited hardware experience so please ask away!  I’ll forward this post to our HW experts so that they can supply the appropriate information.

Of course, if any of our users have the hardware know-how to answer these questions, please feel free to jump and help.

Thanks!

Nong

(Edit, again: That’s strange, apparently using the strikeout causes it to actually delete the text after you refresh the page…)

Reading Comprehension Fail. Not sure about your actual question, but my guess would be that it should be possible since that pin should be configured as an input already.

So here the 4 wire means “has an nCS pin”. Just hook this up to a GPIO and drive it low, then wait for SO to go low before you send data.

The most recent hardware.configure takes precedence, so if you want to receive data from the chip, you’ll want to do this:

1 Drive nCS low
2 Configure SO as a GPIO input
3 Wait until it goes low
4 Configure SPI (will turn SO back into an SPI input)