Simultaneous getting data from the imp while controlling it

Hello,

I am working on a project that requires me to display voltage values from the imp to a webpage and control an LED connected to the imp from the same webpage. Since, I am new to the imp and have limited knowledge of JavaScript/HTML, I’m finding a it a little difficult to do this. According to my understanding, we can only ‘get’ or ‘post’ in a single HTTP request. Given that, I’m having a hard time trying to figure out how to accommodate the two simultaneous but opposite functions. Any help will be much appreciated ! Thanks

You will need to use Javascript (Ajax) to handle both the polling, which will update your voltage values automatically at set polling intervals (say for example every 5 seconds) and then the click events (onclick method linked to an html button), which will control your LED for you. Both long polling and click methods issue “get” or “post” requests to Imp Agent. It is up to you to structure how the Agent HTTP request is handled and how the responses are returned. Usually the Imp Agent response will be in the form of a string or a json encoded object. Your javescript function then has to interpret this information and handle the web-browser screen updates.

I guess my questions are pretty much the same as gerriko.
Maybe we need to know more about what the project is for.

What are your specifications on “real time”?

Example, would it be OK if your website (AJAX) requested the voltage every 5 seconds, or 10 seconds? What is your refresh rate requirement?

At the same time it makes a request for voltage, can it also command the LED on or off?

Again, what is the response, or time requirements for the LED?

You can have a website “poll” the imp for a value, or have the imp POST the value to a website database. Not sure which direction you are going to go.

Thank you both for your answers. They were quite helpful. To answer some questions,