Sending an array via output port and then HTTP request

Hello,

I am currently trying to send three coordinates through the output port of the imp to an HTTP Request node which will send the data via POST to a php script. The problem I am encountering is when I try to read the data on the php side, I can only read one of the coordinates.

Is it possible to send an array through POST using the imp? I am fairly new at squirrel and php/html so please forgive me if I sound like I don’t know what I am talking about.

I define my array as:

local array = [someX, someY, someZ];

and set my output:

output.set(array);

and I configure:

imp.configure("Coordinate Buffer", [], [output]);

On the PHP side I try to access the ‘someX’ variable with:

$_POST['value'][0]

as well as the other two indices for the Y and Z variables but this doesn’t seem to work. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Take a look at this page, and a few of the pages linked in it: http://devwiki.electricimp.com/doku.php?id=electricimpapi:outputport

You may try passing the output type (in this case, its type is an “array”) into the constructor of the OutputPort when you create the output object, as such: (the names in this particular case may lead to confusion since they are quite similar)
output <- OutputPort("value", "array");

The constructor reference page states that if the OutputPort type is omitted, it will default to “number”, which seems to be your case. (See here: http://devwiki.electricimp.com/doku.php?id=electricimpapi:outputport:outputport

Something to try on the PHP side … just a stab at it without trying it myself …

$items=$_POST[‘value’];
print_r($items);

See if it displays the array of values.
It’s possible the array is already there.

If so …
echo $items[0];
echo $items[1];
echo $items[2];

Thanks for the quick responses!

I ended up trying:

output <- OutputPort("value", "array");