Sending a text

First, I am really enjoying this group. I have looked through 187 projects and tons of posts, but still feel lost. I am not a programmer or a hardware guy. I bought an Imp to do one thing, send a text message when I have a bird. I assist with bird banding to track migration and design bird traps. As an input to the Imp I can have either a switch closure or a +5V signal coming from the trap relay. Not sure which is best or which pins to use. I could really use help on which code or code snippets to use. I looked at the washing machine text project, but it’s still kind of over my head. I would just like a text to my phone that says “Bird in trap #1”, when the trap relay actuates.

So far I have blinked my Imp and got the device log to say “Hello from the device”, but that’s it. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Fritz

First of all, you need to have WiFi operating within the range of the bird trap.

Next, to use real text messaging, you would get a Twilio account with it’s own phone number. From Twilio, it can text any phone, and you can actually reply back. But it does cost money.

Otherwise, I know that I can send an email to my smartphone, which is free. The Imp Agent can also send an email to your phone using a remote server like Mailgun.

Likewise, if you have your own website, the agent could use your website to send an email. I use my website to send emails.

I’m trying to imagine how a bird trap would be near a WiFi connection, but that would be a requirement.

To not require WiFi, you would use a different controller (not the Imp) that has it’s own SIM card and texting account with a cell phone carrier. That would cost money too.