Pairing up Imps

I saw several videos where one Imp can be paired up with another via “planner”. Like Tom’s pan an tilt project for example https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liYOoLp3-rw.

It seems that the “planner” is in some obvious place, but I can not find it to save my life. And the IDE layout is a little different from what I can make out. Can someone point me to the place where I can pair up my Imps?

Many thanks

PS I am pretty new to programming and the Imp.

The planner is rather old functionality that has been deprecated for almost a year, which is why you can’t find much information about it.

Currently, the best way to “pair” imps is to have them send HTTP requests to one another.

Thanks, BeardedInventor.

Ah! That’s disappointing! It looked like a very easy and accessible way to do pairing and tempted me to play with the Imps. I wish Imp developers could bring it back as an option.

Do you happen to know where I can find the tutorial for beginners explaining what “send HTTP requests to one another” means and how to do it? I suppose since I got as far as controlling the light on individual Imp, I should persevere and learn “pairing” basics.

Many thanks

There’s an onld blog post on the Electric Imp blog about this from when we first deprecated the planner.

I just “rewrote” it for the new community blog - you can find it here: https://community.electricimp.com/blog/imp-to-imp-communication/

If you have any questions, you can post them here (or in the comments of the blog!!)

Great! I will try that out. Thank you!

Hi beardedinventor,

I am test-running the code to connect two imps, and noticed two things:

1. The code for Device2 has an error in line 12, I recon extra, or missing )
  2. The connection does not go through