Newbie Serial Port Question

I am new to IMP and Squirrel and trying to get some basic serial communications working. I am using UART57. I the IMP connected directly to a serial port on my pc. Imp pin 5(TX) goes to com port pin 2 (RX) and Imp pin 7 (RX) goes to com port pin 3 (TX) and Imp gnd tied to comport pin 5 (gnd). I am using Putty configured to 9600 8-N-1 and trying to send and receive simple strings but all I get is bogus chars. Here is my IMP squirrel code:
`
// electric imp device code
server.log("Device Started - ");

controller <- hardware.uart57;

function ControllerStatus()
{
local responseString = “>”;
local currentData = controller.read();
server.log( "Reading Response: ");
while (currentData != -1)
{
responseString = responseString + currentData.tochar();
currentData = controller.read();
}
server.log( "Response: " + responseString + “<”);
}

// Setup the communications with the controller
controller.configure(9600, 8, PARITY_NONE, 1, NO_CTSRTS, ControllerStatus);

function SendCommand(commandString)
{
local singleChar = 0;

server.log("Command: " + commandString);
foreach(singleChar, value in commandString)
{
    controller.write(value);
    server.log("letter:" + value);
}

// I have also tied this:
//
// controller.write(commandString);
}

SendCommand(“ACA”)
`

But I never see ACA in PuTTy on the PC and if I type ACA on Putty I get this on the IPM side.
2013-12-30 14:21:46 UTC-6: [Device] Reading Response: 2013-12-30 14:21:46 UTC-6: [Device] Response: >_< 2013-12-30 14:21:46 UTC-6: [Device] Response: >^_< 2013-12-30 14:21:46 UTC-6: [Device] Reading Response: 2013-12-30 14:21:46 UTC-6: [Device] Reading Response: 2013-12-30 14:21:46 UTC-6: [Device] Response: >y<
Please help with this, I’m sure, stupid mistake. As you can imagine I have tried a number of different input and output methods and cannot find the magic combo.

One problem may be the voltage differences between the imp and the PC RS232.