Need help to read RX from imp001 with a April

Hello, im very new to this language. Trying a code from:

But i cant get any readings. Get a strange 0 reading. but i assume im not reading the correct pin. I need to read pin 9, how can i be certain i use pin 9 with this code?
Adding a picture where i think its actually missing something like hardware.pin9.configure(somethingsomething?) ?

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Regards Magnus.

No, that’s the correct way to configure the UART for receive only on pin 9.

Things to check:

• you’re using a 3.3v UART to feed this pin, not raw RS232 (which is +/-12v levels and will fry the imp). Which model of maxbotix are you using?

• check to see if pressure on the SD socket above the imp helps. There were some imp001’s made where, depending on the SD socket type, the pressure from the socket pins bent the imp PCB enough that pin 9 didn’t always touch.

• I’d also add some logging of the raw uart read data just to check it looks valid rather than waiting to see what gets sent to the agent :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks Hugo.

Darn then thats not the problem.

Using 5v on to the april, then 3.3v from the april to sensor.

The SD card trick dident help.

I dont grasp how to log raw uart data :confused: yet.

So, that should be ok on power wiring (3.3v has spare capacity on the April devkit - the 7589 appears to take ~34mA @ 3.3v).

Can you send a picture of the wiring? Seems like stuff is right.

To log bytes, I’d do this:

// ---Callback Functions---
function maxbotixData() {
    // Read the UART for data sent by Maxbotix sensor.
    //server.log("UART read");
    local b = maxbotix.read();
    while (b != -1) {
        // Log raw received data as binary and printable ASCII
        server.log(format("RX %02x %c", b, (b>=32 && b<127)?b:'#'));

// As long as UART read value is not -1, we're getting data
        if (b == 'R') stringBuffer = "";
        if (b >= '0' && b <= '9') stringBuffer += b.tochar();