Mailbox notification

Guys, I am totally new to the imp and saw Jon Lee’s mailbox notifier. I really liked the project and have since sent him a message asking for some aid in putting this together. Unfortunately, I have not heard anything and was wondering if you guys could help me out on the code side of this. I put together the imp with a photocell, running off of a 9v battery, which I may change to AA’s, but that is something else. Anyway, I need help with the code. I want the little guy to wake up inside the mailbox when it sees light, connect and send me a pushover message that mail has arrived, and then fall back asleep. I want the imp to make sure it notifies me even if the mailbox has closed before it completes its task. In addition to this, I would like to know the battery life, if possible. That’s it. I have the code for the pushover functionality which I have gotten off of this forum but I need help with the rest.

In advance, I am very grateful for any assistance!

Thanks,

Jerry

Quick initial question… is your mailbox within range of whatever WiFi signal you will be using?

Yes, it is. First thing I made sure of.

Do you have the datasheet or model# for the photocell?

As a sort of similar, and completely ridiculous project, I have considered doing the following: Whenever you see someone draw a sword in a movie, there is always a “sssccchhhhiiiiingggg” sound. Of course, that would mean that metal was scraping against metal, and no one would design a scabbard or sheath that wasn’t at least lined with something non-metallic to protect the sharp blade. (so no “sching” sound). I have considered installing a photocell or similar to the wooden knife block in my kitchen, so that when I pull out a knife, you hear: “Scchhhiinnnggg!”.
Ok, back to your project. I haven’t connected a photocell to an Imp yet, but I’ll pick some up at Radio Shack on the way home and see about some code… unless some else jumps in first.

I do. https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9088