Including Device ID with every measurement

Hi Everyone

Sorry for such a newbie question…I am trying to add the Device ID to every sensor measurement so that I can parse different devices in the Azure Cloud. There is probably a very basic answer to this, but I am not a programmer by trade and have been having issues wrapping my head around the topic.

I am using 2 Sensor Nodes to run a basic PoC on electricIMP and Azure IoT. The code I am using is the Sensor Node example code which is doing everything I need it to for the basic measurement statistics. I can see how the sensor data is stored in an array and how a time stamp (“ts”) is added to every measurement in the array before sending to the agent. I am struggling with how to add the Device ID along with the ts to identify which sensor is providing which measurements.

https://electricimp.com/docs/api/hardware/getdeviceid/

Actually, even easier than that - you can read it on the agent without needing to ask the device, which minimizes data traffic. @Gerrikoio’s suggestion will also work though.

ie:

server.log(imp.configparams.deviceid);

…on the agent will show you the same thing.

Thanks for the feedback. What I am after is the way I would need to add the deviceID to an existing collection before sending from the device to the agent for loading.

Below is the code example I have. I am trying to add the deviceID information to the data collection by including the device ID with each reading. I know that the hardware.getdeviceid(); works in the instance as I have it running in another set of code. But I am having a tougher time figuring out how include it with the readings collected over intervals.

function _parseReadings(readings) {
// add time stamp to reading
local data = {“ts” : time()};
// add device ID to reading
local deviceID <- hardware.getdeviceid();
// log error or store value of reading
foreach(reading in readings) {
if (“err” in reading) {
server.error(reading.err);