How to use impExplorer grove ports for LED

I’m extremely new at this stuff. I know how to get the impExplorer’s own LED to work, but I want to use an LED connected to one of the grove ports and I can’t for the life of me figure out how to get it working. Will any kind person help me out?
For reference this is the LED I’m using; http://wiki.seeed.cc/Grove-LED_Socket_Kit/

First things first. Figure out which pins you want to use: https://electricimp.com/docs/hardware/imp/pinmux/

To understand what you can do with your device’s IO pins read this: https://electricimp.com/docs/api/hardware/

For Grove LED you just need a digital output pin.

Then write some device code. Something like:

//Define a pin for Grove LED to connect to LED <- hardware.pin1; // if you're using IMP001/IMP002 //LED <- hardware.pinA // if you're using IMP003/004 etc.

// This is your one and only function. Can call it what you like.
function loop() {
local LEDstate = !LED.read();
LED.write(LEDstate);
// Set the imp to trigger this function again in 0.5 seconds’ time
imp.wakeup(0.5, loop);
}

// configure your PIN name as a digital output pin with 0 start state
LED.configure(DIGITAL_OUT);

// Start of IMP device firmware
// Simply initiate your function and it will continue running due to repeating wakeup() function
loop();

1 Like

On the impExplorer Grove A0/D0 is pin 2, A1/D1 is pin 5, so as Gerrikoio says, you need to set these as DIGITAL_OUT as per the code above, eg.

LED <- hardware.pin2;
LED.configure(DIGITAL_OUT, 0);

You also need to add the following line to your code, to manage the board’s power gate:

hardware.pin1.configure(DIGITAL_OUT, 1);

For full details see our impExplorer technical page: https://electricimp.com/docs/hardware/resources/reference-designs/explorerkit/