How to queue a message on agent when device is sleeping?

How do you queue messages to be sent from the agent to the device?

In the agent code, I have a http.onrequest(http_handler) call that invokes device.send. However, the device cycles through 6-hour sleep periods. In my test code it seems that device.send just drops the message if it finds that the device is sleeping.

Please suggest an elegant and simple solution.

Thanks,
Abhinav

here is some code to try out. wrote it just now. it creates an empty table.

it adds slots to the table every time ‘testnewmessage’ runs.

it also shows how to remove the messages from the table and shows a test of that. I am not an expert so there may be others with better ideas…

`mynewtable <- {};

mymessagenumber <- 0;

function testnewmessage(msg){
mynewtable[mymessagenumber]<- msg;
mymessagenumber+=1;
}

testnewmessage(“hi”);
testnewmessage(“there”);
testnewmessage(“Abhinav”);

server.log(mynewtable.len());

foreach (index, value in mynewtable){
server.log ("i: " + index + " val: " + value);
}

mynewtable = {};

foreach (index, value in mynewtable){
server.log ("i: " + index + " val: " + value);
}

server.log(“done”);
`

The elegant solution would be to use a device.onconnect() handler in the agent to get notified when the device is online, then send it the messages. You may also want to send a special message when you’re done which triggers the device to go back to sleep.

Thanks for the reply.

However, seems like I am missing something in it’s implementation. I tried to send a message to the device within the device.onconnect handler. However, the corresponding device message handler never gets invoked. Please see the code below. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,
Abhinav

==============================================
Device code

`imp.onidle (function () {
server.log (“Nothing to do so go to sleep”);
server.sleepfor(15);
})

function go_sleep(data)
{
server.sleepfor(15);
}

function set_config (config_data)
{