Fritzing example for battery connection?

Hi,
I’m completely new to electric imp! I have the first “blink” example working, but only with a cable between the breakout board and my laptop. Of course Electric Imp makes no sense if you have a cable running to your computer.
I have read some articles about connecting a battery but most are very technical, without illustrations.
I’m looking for a simple newbie-schematic (perhaps make with fritzing, so that even beginners can understand what’s going on).

Its easy! All you need is a battery holder with leads, and the appropriate batteries. Many of these, like this one, are available at RadioShack, if you are in the US.
Just solder the leads to the P+,P- pads on the side of the breakout board. Red to P+, and Black to P-.

Your battery pack needs to be able to output at least 3.6V, so for example, you could use a 9V battery, or 3AAA (1.5V x 3 = 4.5V). Just make sure you don’t use over 17V, and to be very safe, I would stay at 12V or under.

Thanks!

Eerk,

Realize that you can’t run the imp for very long on batteries unless you really get into the “sleep” programming. You could also use the +5 VDC of a USB cable “wall wart”. You’ll be plugged into the wall, but not a computer. If you are going to be switching small relays, you’ll be forced to use a larger power supply of some kind anyhow, depending on the relays you’re controlling.

It’s great you’re getting interested in electronics, especially with the imp. It’s very addicting stuff. If you ever doubt your connections or components, be sure to ask here first … I’d hate to have you burn out a pin on the imp.

I thought the whole point of the Imp was to make a device completely wireless :slight_smile:

A wall plug may be the next best thing, do you have an amazon link for one that would work? I am in the Netherlands, meaning it has to be 220Volt.