Electric imp Watt Meter

This project is a power meter based on the ADE7953 ic. It has origins back to the electric imp Becky reference design.

I have documented everything here

Watt meter project page

Warning: Dangerous voltages are present in this project. The design is intended as a reference and starting point for those experienced and knowledgable about power electronics. I am not a professional electrical engineer and the meter is not tested against safety regulations.

I know that others have put their projects on Instructables but this is not a good project for that site. I would not expect another person to build exactly what I have built. I only hope someone might find a use for some part of the project some day.

Some main features and notes

• The documentation includes information on how to calibrate the meter and a google doc to help with this, some bits about the soldering of the QFN chip, most of the BOM, design files in Eagle and more examples of things I have measured.

• Peter of electric imp helped make a really fast loop for reading the waveform register using SPI. he achieved really good results as you can see in the image above.

• the waveform is passed from the device to the agent as a blob. The agent builds this out into JSON for passing to Highcharts. the responsiveness is quite good. This is not a function I call often because I don’t want to be greedy with the data.

• the imp002 module and ADE7953 are connected in a way that SPI or i2c can be used without any hardware change - it is just software setup. It may be a good example for someone looking into this kind of communication. The code for both protocols was left in the device but only the SPI communication is called.

• there is some code in the agent for logging to Tempo-db.com. It can be stripped off and everything else will work just fine.