Device.send & agent.on confusion for a newbie

I am new to this type of programming but what I want to do is to return a value from a function on a imp device from within a function inside the Agent.

To keep the communication between the device and the agent at a minimum I want to pull the imp on demand from the agent -vs- listening for events. Is this possible?

For example
// the following is a mix of Perl and C not squirrel ( I don’t know how to do it in squirrel yet )

//agent code
function GETIMPDATA(){
sensorvalue=remotefunction(1);
server.log(“the sensor value for sensor 1 =”+sensorvalue);

sensorvalue=remotefunction(2);
server.log(“the sensor value for sensor 2 =”+sensorvalue);

};

//device code

function remotefunction (sensor){
returnvalue=thesensor.sensor;
return returnvalue;
}

Thanks for your help

Listening for messages rather than polling is how things are done on the imp, but you need to register with both agent and device the relevant function they need to call when a message comes in.

At the start of the agent code:
device.on("reading.from.imp", GETIMPDATA)

At the start of the device:
agent.on("request.from.agent", remotefunction)

These calls set the message names (in quotes) and the functions the imp OS will call if those messages arrive.

Your functions need tweaking a little to accommodate this:

function remotefunction(sensornumber) { agent.send("reading.from.imp", thesensor.sensornumber) }

and

function GETIMPDATA(returnvalue) { server.log("the sensor value for sensor ="+ returnvalue); }

That handles the communication, but doesn’t initiate it, so at the end of agent code, you need to send a ‘get reading’ message to the imp:

device.send("request.from.agent", 1) device.send("request.from.agent", 2)

So, agent sends the “request.from.agent” message twice, once for each sensor. As it receives the messages, the device gets the appropriate reading, and sends it back to the agent as a “reading.from.imp” message.