Device is getting disconnected

Hello,

My device is getting disconnected when the agent makes a call. I’m running code that used to work fine and hasn’t been changed. Is anyone having the same problem?

Since I’m an absolute beginner, I’m still not sure what’s causing it but my device has stopped sending updates to lively.com on a few occasions.
Until I read your post, I’ve been blaming it on my setup which is still on a breadboard. Each time, it was quickly resolved by resetting the power to the circuit. I also wondered if the Imp was going into some kind of sleep mode and not waking up? I still have a lot to learn…

I tried resetting the power, but as soon as the agent makes a call to the device the device disconnects for some reason that I can’t figure out. I wounded what could cause a device to disconnect.

I think there is something wrong in my circuit, because I removed some code that turns on a pin and now the device is not disconnecting, I will keep investigating.

A lot of times devices ‘disconnect’ because of tight loops / infinite loops:

while(1) { // do something }

Infinite loops block execution of all other processes on the imp, including it’s wifi management. Do either of you have infinite (or very long running) loops in your code?

Have the same problem, and it is due to a tight loop. I’m toggling a pin and I can see it going on the scope, but the Imp is totally dead as far as connectivity. And it doesn’t even try to recover. So if you have an Imp deployed 1000’s of miles away you’ll have to hop on a plane to power cycle it AFAIK.

If the Imp disconnects due to a tight loop then it is poorly designed. What determines too tight?? They’ve done something wrong, and if things like this can happen, then what else?

It doesn’t matter how “tight” the loop is - it matters whether you let go of the thread of execution. Here’s what’s going on: