Development device not restarting agent and server.log not outputting

Hi there,

I am a bit new to electric imp development, so I apologize if I sound a bit lost. I have an imp004m configured as a development device that was off for more than 30 days, and thus its agent went offline. As I understand it, when this happens the device will automatically restart the agent when it comes back online, however this particular device’s agent remains offline. I am able to successfully BlinkUp this device, and I can see in the ImpCentral that this device is online as well, but the agent shows as offline.

On this same device, it seems that none of the calls to serial.log() in my device code are actually logging anything, or at the very least, the logs are not showing up on ImpCentral despite the device being connected to WiFi. I have several serial.log() statements in my device code that I have confirmed are not blocked by the agent being offline. There are various hardware events in my system that tell me that the device code is working properly (LEDs turning on, Bluetooth initialization and connectivity all work as expected), but I am confused as to why nothing that is logged with serial.log() is coming through on my end. Again, this is the only device in this development group that is experiencing this issue.

Let me know if there’s any more information I can provide. Any help is greatly appreciated!

How are you determining the agent is offline? Generally, if the agent is hitting runtime errors after being restarted by the device coming back online, it may get held off from restarting - but you should see these errors being reported in impCentral.

Presuming you mean server.log not serial.log? What do you see in the logging area of the IDE when you power up the device?