Basics of sending an email/txt notification after an event is detected?

I am new to the imp, and to network programming, and I am wondering if someone might provide a general guidance to me on what I need to set up in order to use the info sent from an imp back to the agent to send me an email/text that an event has occurred (like “Check your AC, because the living room temperature is 93 degrees”). I assume that I will need to be running some sort of server at home, but I am rather clueless as to the basic approach that is considered “standard”. Any guidance is greatly appreciated, and I will be very happy to go STFW and RTFM once I have some direction. Thanks.

The beauty of the imp is no, you do not need a server at home :slight_smile:

For a SMS alerting system from a thermistor, you’d pull in two libraries:

1. Thermistor library. This will read a thermistor & bias resistor hooked to an imp pin and give you a temperature. Wiring instructions are in the repo. You’d set up an imp.wakeup look to read the temperature periodically, and send it to the agent with an agent.send() call.

Something like this:

• 10k thermistor between GND and pin 9
  • 10k resistor between pin 9 and 3.3v.

`
#require “Thermistor.class.nut:1.0.0”

const b_therm = 3988;
const t0_therm = 298.15;

temp_sns <- hardware.pin9;

// thermistor on bottom of divider
myThermistor <- Thermistor(temp_sns, b_therm, t0_therm, 10, false);

function read_and_send() {
// read temperature in F and send to agent
local reading = myThermistor.readF();
server.log("temperature = "+reading+“F”);
agent.send(“temperature”, reading);

// do it again in 60 seconds
imp.wakeup(60, read_and_send);
}

// Start sampling
read_and_send();
`

1. Twilio library (and a twilio account - sign up on twilio.com). You’d write a few lines of code to receive temperatures from the imp and a one liner to send you an SMS if a threshold was crossed.

`#require “Twilio.class.nut:1.0.0”