About text recognition(twitter autoreply)

Hi all,
It me again still in the progress of my twitter project. Currently I’ve successfully blink up led via the function of twitter streaming. like below.
twitter.stream("@myname", onTweet);
My further stage gonna be let the imp able to recognize the text I’ve twit in order to running different function and twit me reply.
Does anyone have any ideas?

An reference I’ve got from github which is a PHP code, as a beginner I cant completely know all the words.
https://gist.github.com/Daniel15/820281

Sincerely seek for help.
Joseph

This is a very open ended question - and there are a lot of possible answers. What specifically are you trying to accomplish?

Do you want to be able to recognize a set of specific commands (like ‘hallway lights on’, ‘open garage’, etc), or something a bit more generic?

@beardedinventor that’s exactly what I want. Furthermore, I wanna get information like asking" what the temperature right now" and get "Its 36 degree "as a answer. Does it make sense and possible to accomplish?

The easiest way to do this is to look for a certain set of known commands (there are much better ways, and more complex ways - but that’s a whole subject unto itself).

Here’s a really simple example where we look for certain keyword pairs to determin what functionality we want to invoke:

`// search for #RobotFriend
twitter.stream("#RobotFriend", function(tweet) {
local text = tweet.text.tolower();

if (text.find("light on") != null) {
    device.send("light", 1);
    twitter.tweet("I turned the light on (at " + time() + ")");
}
if (text.find("light off") != null) {
    device.send("light", 0);
    twitter.tweet("I turned the light off (at " + time() + ")");
}
if (text.find("get temp") != null || text.find("get the temp") != null) {
    twitter.tweet("The current temp (at " + time() + ") is " + temp);
}

}`