220v Relay

Hi guys. I’m a software dev - this is my first foray in to hardware, so any/all advice is appreciated!

For this project, I would like to create a remote controlled light switch. From the reading I’ve been doing, it seems the way to go about it would be to use a relay. I was looking at this 8A relay, but it needs 5v and it seems the electricimp only provides 3v. Am I correct in thinking that a Logic Level Converter will solve that problem?

From my limited understanding, I would hook up the Converter to the EI, and the relay to the converter. Is there anything else I would need? Am I even on the right path?

Is there recommended reading that where I can learn more about this stuff?

Thanks a ton!

Hi see http://devwiki.electricimp.com/doku.php?id=exampleswitch

The outline circuit digram shows [controller impee] which uses a transistor to switch the relay on & off. One part of the transistor [the base] goes to the imp output via a resistor, another part of it [collector] is connected to the 5v and the [emitter] goes to the coil of the relay.

Note this description is slightly different from the way impee controller digram works. I have this working with one of my imps.

What is the load your trying to switch with relay?

I saw that, but its mostly about the code and not the hardware. Being a software developer, I need a link the other way around :slight_smile:

For starters, I’m looking to switch 220v @ 1kW, so 4.5A (if I got that part correct).

It’s about code but the circuit digram shows how to drive the relay it has part no’s for most of the electronics, you just need a relay with a 5v coil.

Also for learning try the brilliant Adafruit http://learn.adafruit.com/

you just need a relay with a 5v coil

I thought the imp only dose 3.3v?