Static IP

Hello,

Does anybody know if it’s possible to assign a static IP address to an IMP?

Thank you

You communicate with the imp (device) through the agent, and the agent URL is static, so you do have a static address to communicate with.

You can certainly configure your DHCP service to assign a static address to a particular device, but that won’t be much good for anything except network administration.

Thank you MakeDeck,
I’m going to install an imp device in a location where they don’t have DHCP enabled and they only assign static IPs, I guess for security reasons. I’m not a network expert, so I don’t know how I would blinkup an IMP without DHCP being available, do you know how it can be done?

Just give them the MAC address for your device, and they can assign a static address to it. (I’m assuming you can ask.) :slight_smile: It won’t make any difference to the imp.

And the I should be able to use the blinkup app to connect the IMP to their network?

Assuming that nothing else would be blocking network traffic to and from the imp, then yes, you should be fine.

They’d have to have DHCP enabled - the imp only gets addresses via DHCP - but they can make a DHCP reservation if they know the imp’s mac address and then it’ll always be on that IP.

Thank you both for your comments.

Considering the following comment I found regarding network security - “But if you are truly serious about network security—if you have sensitive data residing on your network or just want to make data or identity theft much less likely—you’re probably better off sticking with disabling DHCP and maintaining full manual control of your home network.”. Is there any way that I can get the imp in the network without DHCP? The company policy where I’m installing the imp, doesn’t want to enable DHCP.
Thank you for your help on this.