Setting Variables from Web Form

I am really confused, I cannot seem to figure this out.

I am ready to build a project that involves collecting data on a form, then sending to the imp to do things with the data. Example, move motor this many steps… etc.

I am very new at this and was confident I could figure it out like arduino, but I need help. I have spent the entire night trying this with no resolution.

I am trying to learn step by step, starting with basic functions. The first task was getting the time. Done. The second task was getting a variable from a form, not done.

No matter what I change, if I am trying to assign a variable in the function set I get: “ERROR: trying to set ‘class’”.

The planner: I have HTTP IN pointed to my device(variable test) and pointed to Show Input. Whatever I type in the form shows on the show input. But the log gives me an error and seems to pause the imp.

The code:
`// variable test code

x <- 0; // set default
value <- 0; // set default

function display() //function to show on log and planner that value has been received
{

server.log(x); //fuction shows on code log
server.show(x); //fuction shows on planner
imp.wakeup(0.5, display); // loop
}

class value extends InputPort // import
{
name = “value” //the name I have the form field
type = “number” // the type of field I have the form set as
function set(value) // set function
{

x = value;  // set "x" to equal whatever value I typed in on the form

//imp.wakeup(0.5, display);

}
}

imp.configure(“Variable Test”, [value], []); //configure
display(); // run

//end code`

My form:
`

Select x value:
`

Any ideas?
Thank you.

Screenshot of planner attached.

I think your issue is with using value for both a class name & variable name. Try calling your class webValue or something else

class webValue extends InputPort imp.configure("Variable Test", [webValue], []);

Same error. :frowning: