Reconciling Getting Started Tutorial with IDE

Newbie here. I’m trying to work my way through the Getting Started tutorial but it doesn’t correspond to the IDE I’m seeing in Chrome on Win7. In particular, there’s no Log pane (just Agent and Device) and no Build and Run button (just Build 1, Check, and Build buttons). The tutorial seems to be for a different version of the IDE. Can anyone offer some suggestions for how to learn how to use the Imp? Thanks.

You need to open the model and click the actual device - then you’ll see log windows and the right buttons. Because the same model can be on multiple devices, you need to select the actual device.

Though, there’s a long-standing bug I filed about “if there’s only one device, it should just auto-select that”, so maybe it’ll get fixed soon :slight_smile:

As far as I can tell, I’ve opened the model and selected the device. I see the Agent and Device panes and have pasted the sample blink code into the Device pane. Should I be able to do that if I haven’t selected the device? Still no Log pane or Build and Run button.

Above “build 1” should be a “devices” item. If you click this, do you see any devices listed?

Other way to do it is to see whether the icon to the left of the device name is an arrow pointing to the right (collapsed) or down (open). When open, the devices that below to that model are selected - these are the ones you need to click to access an individual device.

do you see any devices listed?

Yes, I see my device. When I click on it, the Agent and Device panes disappear and are replaced with a single window that says, “There is nothing to see yet. Click on a device to start editing.” When I click on my sole device, under Active Models, I’m returned to the previously mentioned two panes.

That’s…strange. Can you PM me a device ID? Never seen that before…