Power switch state

Hi,

i am playing with a relay switch, i have 2 leds; 1 for OFF and 1 for ON.
when i am pluging the power to the imp both of them are active, the question is how do i tell the imp the first state of the pins when it is powering up?

another quick one, if i connect a led to pins 8 and 2 the led is constantly on (low power), even if i am writing a small basic program where those pins a are not involved at all, any ideas.

(Yes, Yes i am a noob :))
thanks,

Moshik

you just add a line somewhere in your code saying the state of each pin.
after you configure it as you wish, you write:
hardware.pinX.write() with 0 or 1, whatever your configuration is.
depends on your setup,
In my project, I have two leds involved also, one is pin8 and the other is pin9.
so both led’s positive leg is attached to pin8 or pin9, and the other to GND.
I do:
// Pin 9 = Green LED hardware.pin9.configure(DIGITAL_OUT); hardware.pin9.write(0); // Pin 8 = RED LED hardware.pin8.configure(DIGITAL_OUT); hardware.pin8.write(1);
so the initial state is RED, since I write “1”, which gives high voltage (3.3v, up to 4mA) on pin8.

another thing you should know, there are permanent tables, which allows you to save data on the server & restore it back, if the imp was turned off for some reason and you wish to preserve its state.

about the behavior of unconfigured pins, I dont know what happens, but if you dont use them, so simply dont use them :slight_smile:

You can either use current sourcing or current sinking …

For driving LED’s or transistors/TTL chips, etc., you can also “sink” the output instead of “driving” it. So your configure would look like:

hardware.pin9.configure(DIGITAL_OUT_OD_PULLUP);

The LED w/resistor is between the output pin and the 3V3 pin.
In this case, when you output a zero (0), the LED is ON, and a one (1) is OFF.