Please Recommend: Nonprofit looking to monitor temperature and water usage via IMP

I am a complete IMP noob, I do a lot of programming (including Javascript), so the Squirrel coding looks possible for me, the electronics I fear as I haven’t tinkered in years. Not trying to be a total leech, but would like to avoid obviously bad decisions that will cost me money since I’m funding the whole thing. This would be my first IMP project.

Problem Statement: I am trying to help a non-profit (a church) address the following problems 1) people using the facilities, adjust the thermostats in several zones, and leave them at the “occupied” settings when they leave. 2) after the facilities are used, people often leave the sinks, toilets or baptismal water running or dripping. All of these generate unnecessary waste for days until noticed (usually on Sunday).

Objective: Setup an IMP (or similar) low-cost to periodically detect the temperatures in 5 different zones (which are each controlled by different thermostats), and also monitor for running water (possibly even a motion sensor). I want to validate my plan of attack with the experts in this community, so that I don’t waste money on things that wouldn’t work, or could be done easier or cheaper.

Plan Strategy: Wakeup an IMP every so often (or possibly on water pulse or motion), count water pulses for a short period (s/b 0) [each water pulse will be 0.01 gallon], measure temperatures - send to Agent (hourly).
At Agent, evaluate Time-Of-Day, Day-Of-Week and look for out of bound situation (excluding certain combinations of weekday and time where usage is expected).
If out-of-bounds is detected during 2 adjacent time periods, notify steward via zapier.com text. Limit text message frequency per day.
The church has WPA secured wireless available with great signal in about 50% of the building where 90% of the sensors would be.

Plan Parts:
2-IMP (dev one for me + one for church),