Initial Blinkup Error - Green [3X] then Red [11X]

Hi, I’m just getting into the imp game with two brand new imps (macs 0c:2a:69:00:1f:9f and 0c:2a:69:00:1f:8b) and April boards. I’ve tried every combination of imp and impee, but I can’t seem to connect after blinkup. Following the directions here, (and after using the “Legacy Blinkup Mode” on the app), I get to red-orange-off for a second or two (‘getting IP address’ status), but then I just get three long green flashes followed by 11 or so fast red flashes, repeating indefinitely. I don’t think I ever got an “on green” indicating firmware upgrade. Neither imp nor impee shows up in my planner, but I checked my wifi router client list to verify the imp (as recognized by mac address) is indeed connected to my wireless network.

I’ve tried to RTFM, following similar forum posts:
http://forums.electricimp.com/discussion/comment/9232#Comment_9232
http://forums.electricimp.com/discussion/comment/9160#Comment_9160
http://forums.electricimp.com/discussion/comment/1696#Comment_1696

Hence I have tried logging out and logging back into the phone app to no avail. A run-time error can’t be the problem (unless it’s present by default) since I have never even connected the imp to the planner.

The latter of the above posts mentioned a nuance with the “first 1000 imps made.” Might I have some old stock from smartmaker.com throwing me off? What’s the proposed solution? Thanks in advance!

Both of those imps have invalid blinkup tokens, which is why they’re behaving like that. Did you blinkup again after logging out and in on the phone app?