Imp005 wifi 5Ghz

Hi,

I just received my imp005 kit, and I’m having trouble connecting it via 5Ghz wifi, it just connects by 2.4Ghz or I saw cable.
I would like to know if I need to do any configuration so I can connect it to the 5Ghz network.
Note: I am a beginner, I do not have much experience, thank you in advance for help.

No, there’s no special configuration for 5GHz other than the usual BlinkUp. You just use the Electric Imp app to select a 5GHz network, enter the password and do BlinkUp, and the imp005 will connect.

Do your 5GHz and 2.4GHz networks have the same name? If so, the imp005 will probably connect to the 2.4GHz radio first (I don’t know this for a fact, but most of the various devices I have encountered do).

FWIW, I keep my 2.4GHz and 5GHz networks separate for this very reason.

If your networks do not use the same name, you should note that you can only store one network on the imp, so if you BlinkUp with the 5GHz network and then immediately re-Blink with the 2.4GHz network, the imp will only remember the second one.

smittytone,

The networks have different names, before adding another network I’m deleting the network saved in BlinkUp, even so it does not connect.
Do you have any configuration on the router that you need to do?

thank you

BTW, you don’t need to clear network A from the imp before adding network B - adding another network automatically clears the first.

When you say, ‘does not connect’, what colour pattern are you seeing on the imp LED?

Hi,

right after using BlinkUp, when the app is trying to connect, the LED flashes red, then blinks amber color, blinks for a few seconds and stops blinking, equating this in the app already has the msg that could not connect .
I’ve visualized the color scheme at this link: https://developer.electricimp.com/troubleshooting/blinkup/#codes

I connected the same in the 2.4Ghz network and circled the script inside the device, follow the link of the page: