IMP capabilities

I am very new to The Electric Imp and cannot answer my own questions…can you help please. I want to use the Imp to stream H.264 / MPEG4 compressed 1080p video+audio from an Imp enabled portable camera (my design), over the internet, to a remote location to view. The compression etc is all done in a DSP SoC and the Imp just has to implement the WiFi connection. Two questions:

1. Assuming good 802.11n signal quality and good internet backhaul bandwidth, is the Imp system up to this task ?
  2. One potential customer insists that the data cannot pass through a cloud server for security reasons…hence, once I have deployed the devices and loaded the firmware, is the “Cloud” still in the path of the data-stream ?

Many thanks

Jeff

the Imp can only communicate with the Impserver by design

In my opinion, you have the wrong WiFi device for your project. You said that you already designed the imp enabled camera? I think we would all be interested in seeing that. Are there not already WiFi enabled cameras available?

Thankyou mlsein, I am designing the camera now - there is no off-the-shelf unit will do the job, this is a camera and portable DVR designed to very specific customer requirements and hence is a “custom job”. The design is not yet finished, but it is now time to select a Wifi component candidate. Is that clearer now ?

Thank you DolfTraanberg, I guessed as much - cannot bypass the server…

The imp isn’t suitable for this; it has only 128kB of ram in total, which limits the streaming speed (buffer-latency product).

Very few wifi modules will give you the type of performance you need there, for much the same reasons (they usually have embedded TCP stacks and limited ram). I suggest trying something like a raspberry pi with a USB wifi adaptor? That way you have plenty of ram and a big CPU… assuming you can get the image data into it.