Help with writting code in the Imp's platform

Hi I am new to using the imp and all. I see that the code resemble C/C++ so I was wondering if I need to add libraries like for example: #include <stdaio.h> or #include <spi.h> such like this, and also how do you initialize a variable in the code because i have written like: int x,y,z; or char values [10]; or char DATAX0=0X32; or something like that, does it works how do I know it works? what I am trying to do is get readings of data form an accelerometer (ADXL345) (datasheet) trough either SPI or I2C with the imp, I already have seen it with arduino but I would like to use the imp for this.

Squirrel is dynamically typed, so you don’t need to declare a variable’s type. It’s enough simply to write:

value = 10; value = true; value = 42.000001;
or
value = "Squirrel";

When a variable is local to a function, not global, it’s conventional to state this:

local value = "This string is only available in this function";

Global variables are different: they a stored in one of Squirrel’s tables, which are arrays of key:value pairs. So globals are assigned as table elements, called ‘slots’ in Squirrel terminology and assigned this way:

value <- "This is a string"; value <- 42; value <- false;
or
value <- 99.9999;

thanks for the explanation. So if my code looks like this:
#include “SPI.h”
#include “Wire.h”
#include "ADXL345.h"
hardware.spi257.configure ();
#define ADXL345_DEVICE (0x53)
int (CS = 10);
char (POWER_CTL = 0x2D); //Power Control Register
char (DATA_FORMAT = 0x31);
char (DATAX0 = 0x32); //X-Axis Data 0
char (DATAX1 = 0x33); //X-Axis Data 1
char (DATAY0 = 0x34); //Y-Axis Data 0
char (DATAY1 = 0x35); //Y-Axis Data 1
char (DATAZ0 = 0x36); //Z-Axis Data 0
char (DATAZ1 = 0x37); //Z-Axis Data 1
char (values [10]);
int (x,y,z);
Which lines will be unnecessary or can be taken out?

Pretty much all of it. The #include lines pull in Arduino libraries - these are not compatible with Squirrel and the imp API.