Ars asks: What home automation project should we tackle?

Was surprised to see pic of an IMP insides during my Google Reader review.

Arstechnica is asking it’s readers what home automation project should we tackle using an Electric IMP.

http://arstechnica.com/business/2012/10/ars-asks-what-home-automation-project-should-we-tackle/

Oh the possibilities…Thanks for sharing.

Ok how about a poor man’s NEST room thermostat.
With a good temp sensor in like Sensirion STS21 i2c temperature sensor it’s got 0.2% accuracy and its $3.93.

Motive: Heating & Cooling are the major part of your energy costs & I need one…

Ok how about a poor man's NEST room thermostat.

I ended up reading about the electric imp more because of that ars technica article, with exactly that goal in mind.

I found this on the wiki: jane – seems like just what I’d need. But, I’m a software developer, not a “hardware guy” – I haven’t touched a soldering iron in 10 years. So, am I best off just waiting for things to mature more, so that I can just buy some pre-made hardware and program it do do my bidding? I also couldn’t seem to find anywhere to buy the development boards completely assembled, so I guess you’re supposed to just buy all the parts on the bill of materials, get someone to print the circuit board from the data files on the wiki, and solder it all together yourself?

pioto: where are you located?
Pre assembled - April Sparkfun https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11400
I haven’t used a soldering ion for a long-time either but has been great fun re-learning. Jane’s a reference design and suited to USA HVAC system. I’m in the UK we don’t run our HVAC like that so was thinking of a standalone stat with OLED display. You may want to check AdaFruit they I believe will have some impee boards coming soon.