A "real" watchdog function is strongly needed for IMP

Hi,
I have been using IMP for two years as server&controller for my heating system . It has been a real pleasure with all advantages on software handling but…
Unfortunately I now decided to give it up ( at least for the moment) after spending too many hours trying to tune my code to avoid &handle any unforeseen hangups.
E.g. today the IMP control stopped at around 2 in the night and the heating was on nightlevel when I got up…
I have built in all possible counters and server.log s but it all comes down to that in rare occasions ( like once a month) a reset of IMP is the only thing that can get it starting on my code again.
I therefore feel I cannot thrust IMP for critical control functions without a real watchdog function ( like found in any u-controlled systems I have been using over the years). For the moment I am now porting the Squirrel to an AVR setup which I know can run 24/7 for years.
I noted recently that there stills seems to be some plans for “real” watchdog . If it happens I really would like to test it firsthand.
Looking in the forum I note that I am not alone in the crowd.

Still IMP fan…

I am not sure the imp is even made to handle critical functions. I am using a few imps around my house, but all of them are for things that does not really matter if they for some reason fail.

Would be curious to know how you designed your watchdog features.

As we all know, every system eventually fails unless it has built in redundancy for hot swapping, which in itself relies on some sort of watchdog functionality. So to introduce watchdog features I would have started by looking at likely availability levels of the cloud-based agent/server versus device. As such it could be assumed that agent would typically be available at the 99% levels while with devices it would typically be a lot less.